My Social Media Policy

Social Media icons

Connecting: Introduce yourself and tell me why you want to connect

I would like to know why you would like to connect with me. There is nothing wrong with a nice message introducing yourself and saying hello.

Follow, add, friend:

My following/adding back policy depends on the social media site. For example, with Facebook,  I will only accept and add people who I have met. I don’t think it should be used to communicate with just anybody.Whereas, with Twitter I am a bit more open with following people.

Privacy, boundaries and safety:

I’m not one to post very many things on social media sites. I barely tweet or update my facebook status. I mostly use it to see what’s going on.

Signal to noise:

I’m interested in thoughtful posts. Many people feel there is a need to post every single thing that happens to them throughout the day. That annoys me.

Personal data and sharing:

There’s no need of sharing personal information such as your address or phone number. If anyone needs this information, they can send me a private message and explain what they would like to know and why.

My networking needs and uses:

Facebook – for far away family and friends, and seeing whats new.

Linkedin – professional use only.

Twitter – not as personal, I follow people I know, and design related accounts as well. If your tweets interest me, I will follow!

Pinterest – i’m addicted. I will follow anyone with nice boards.

7. Your criteria here: Be Kind

Be kind to others, even on the internet!

8. Your criteria here: Be Careful

Be careful what you post, always think twice!

 

Here are some links I stumbled across:

Social Media template from:   Public Relations Matters

Top 10 Tips – Your social media policy: Birketts

5 Important Tips for Creating a Comprehensive Social Media Policy: Edgewave

This entry was published on January 18, 2013 at 6:15 am. It’s filed under Design and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “My Social Media Policy

  1. Well researched and well written. Good examples used. Thanks Jen.

Leave a Reply

