Reviews of art/museum blog designs

While browsing through museum blogs and having the urge to visit them all, I’ve noticed that there are some very well-designed blogs and some poorly-designed blogs. In this post, I will be comparing a blog design in which I find well-designed and one which I find poorly-designed.

New Museum

new museum, art, blog

Screenshot of New Museum blog site

This is a blog for a Museum called “New Museum”. It is a museum of Contemporary Art in New York. I think the design of this blog is great. The first thing I noticed was how clean and simple the layout was. Everything is well laid out, and organized. I enjoy the use of 3 colours throughout the blog. The hint of green really brightens up the page. I also like that when you begin to scroll down, a “scroll to the top” arrow appears. I thought that was pretty neat.

Museum 2.0

Screenshot of Museum 2.0 blog site

Screenshot of Museum 2.0 blog site

This second blog is by a woman who researches museums. I am not a fan of the design of this blog. The header image is what caught my eye right way. I feel it should be designed to give the blog a more sophisticated feel. In my opinion, there is too much text and not enough images. I find that the images that are used are not very interesting. Perhaps if the images were more appealing, it would make me want to read all the text. The design of this blog makes me want to steer away from it.

That’s all for today. Stay tuned for my next post!

This entry was published on January 11, 2013 at 1:30 am. It’s filed under Design and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

